A trip to the supermarket

Shopping on a Saturday night is a quiet affair; most people have better things to do. I don’t. I choose to take advantage of the calm conditions. On my way, I listen to loud dance music in the car. An old couple in the car park give me a wary glance and I realise that the bassy music is intimidating. As I emerge from the car, their anxiety melts away at the sight of my scarf and driving glasses. No danger here, just a head buzzing with reverse cymbal, a sound that is surprisingly hard to get out of one’s mind: reverse cymbal as I inspect the cauliflowers; reverse cymbal as I browse the tinned fish. Nobody notices the incongruity of my internal soundtrack in the sedate, brightly lit aisles, but I do. There’s no one to get in my way so I take my time and do a careful shop, and I start to grow attached to the contents of the trolley. What if someone made off with the trolley? I’d lose all that effort. I keep my trolley close by. I need some port. I don’t need port. That is to say, I want port for a recipe. Irritatingly, in this empty supermarket, a crowd has formed around the port, all brows furrowed as they pointlessly contemplate the labels and get in my way. Can’t a fellow shop for fortified wine in peace these days? I hate them. The checkout is empty and the assistant is talking with her friend, so I work methodically and pack the bags sensibly. A loaf of bread, another loaf of bread, oats - the oats join the bread. ‘A soft bag of cereals,’ I think to myself, but I’m thinking too much and meat is piling upon veg and veg is piling upon tins, all propelled by a remorseless conveyor belt. The next bag is a hasty one: tomatoes, tins and bottles. I chalk that one down to experience. I chalk it all down to experience, pay for my stuff and head home.

 
12
Kudos
 
12
Kudos

Now read this

Less than unplugged: the simulation argument

Inception and The Matrix are films that tell compelling stories about people living within simulated worlds. In the case of Inception, the simulations are created in the dreams of corporate spies known as ‘Extractors’; in The Matrix, the... Continue →